Writivism 2019 Literary Prize Longlist: Short Story and Creative Non-fiction

Writivism 2019 Literary Prize Longlist: Short Story and Creative Non-fiction
March 26, 2019 Isabella Akinseye
In Blog

The Writivism Literary Initiative has announced the long list of writers for the 2019 Short Story and Koffi Addo Creative Non-fiction Prizes.

The Short Story Prize received 387 entries, from which twelve stories selected. The judges for the prize include Ugandan novelist and short story writer, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (chiarman), Zimbabwean writer and editor, Emmanuel Sigauke and Ghanaian publisher, blogger and activist, Kinna Likimani.

The Koffi Addo Prize for Creative Nonfiction longlist received 117 entries from which eight stories selected by a team of three judges chaired by Ghanaian novelist Ayesha Harruna Attah, South African novelist, poet and short story writer, Karen Jennings and Kenyan academic Dr. Christopher Ouma.

Some interesting twists to the list released are having writers from Liberia, for the first time in the history of the prize, and a writer, Frances Ogamba, appearing on both longlists.

Longlist: Koffi Addo Creative Non-fiction

Abdulrahman ‘Abu Amirah’ Ndegwa (Mombasa, Kenya)

Charles Dorme Cooper (Liberia)

Eugene Yakubu (Nigeria).

Frances Ogamba (Nigeria)

Kanyinsola Olorunnisola (Nigeria)

Nwankwo Ugochukwu Evans (Nigeria)

Samuel Arum (Nigeria)

Som Oluwatobi August Adedayo (Nigeria)


Chiamaka Omireh (Nigeria)

Frances Ogamba (Nigeria)

Gladwell Pamba (Kenya)

Godwin Uche Uwadilachi (Nigeria)

Ifeoma Nnewuihe (Nigeria)

Onyango Olual (Kenya)

Peace Mbengei (Kenya)

Phillip Leteka (Lesotho)

Precious Colette Kemigisha 

Resoketswe Manenzhe (South Africa) 

Tope (Nigeria)

Vuyelwa Maluleke (South Africa)

Congratulations to all shortlisted writers! For more information on the shortlist, click here.

Comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *